## **Appendix**

List of Participants in the Conference on "Regional Economic Integration and Global Economic Cooperation: The Challenges for Industrial, Transitional and Developing Countries", held at the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs on 18-19 November 1997

Mr. Ernest Aryeetey	Ser	iio	r)	Re	sea	rch	I	Fellow,	Institute of	
	~			•	$\alpha$		1	1 7		

Statistical, Social and Economic Research,

University of Ghana

Ms. Rosanne Beckers Economist, Foreign Financial Relations

Directorate, Ministry of Finance, the

Netherlands

Mr. Hein Bogaard Junior Advisor, Multilateral Banks Division,

Ministry of Finance, the Netherlands

Mr. Lucas ter Braak Economist, Monetary and Economic Policy

Department, De Nederlandsche Bank,

Amsterdam

Ms. Anna Brandt Deputy Director, Division for Central and

Eastern Europe, Ministry for Foreign Affairs,

Sweden

Mr. Andrew Cornford Senior Economic Advisor, Division on

Globalisation and Development Strategies,

UNCTAD, Geneva

Mr. Ed Craanen Director, Western Hemisphere Department,

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands

Mr. Ron van Dartel Director, European Affairs Department,

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands

Mr. Robert Devlin	Chief, Integration, Trade and Hemispheric Issues Division, Inter-American Development Bank, Washington, D.C.
Mr. Jean-Paul Dirkse	Director, Cultural Cooperation, Education and Research Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands
Mr. Zdeněk Drábek	Senior Adviser, Economic Research and Analysis, World Trade Organization, Geneva
Mr. Dag Ehrenpreis	Chief Economist, Policy Department, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA), Stockholm
Mr. Mohamed A. El-Erian	Deputy Director, Middle Eastern Department, International Monetary Fund, Washington, D.C.
Mr. Ricardo Ffrench-Davis	Principal Regional Advisor, UN-Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC), Santiago de Chile
Ms. Teresa Fogelberg	Head, Research and Developing Countries Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands
Mr. János Gács	Acting Project Leader, Economic Transition and Integration Project, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis, Laxenburg, Austria
Mr. Branislav Gosovic	Director, The South Centre, Geneva
Ms. Stephany Griffith-Jones	Senior Fellow, Institute of Development Studies, Sussex University, UK
Mr. Jan Willem Gunning	Professor of Economics, Free University of Amsterdam

Mr. Göran Hedebro	Head of SAREC's Division for Thematic Programmes, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA), Stockholm
Mr. Barry Herman	Chief International Economic Relations Branch/MD, Department of Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis, United Nations Headquarters, New York
Mr. Ingmar van Herpt	Economist, Foreign Financial Relations Directorate, Ministry of Finance, the Netherlands
Mr. Björn Hettne	Professor in Peace and Development Research, Göteborg University, Sweden
Mr. Winfried Houtman	Head, European Union Division, Ministry of Finance, the Netherlands
Ms. Marie Hulsman- Vejsová	Senior Officer, Research and Developing Countries Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands
Mr. András Inotai	General Director, Institute for World Economics of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest
Mr. Jan Willem van der Kaaij	Head, Multilateral Banks Division, Ministry of Finance, the Netherlands
Mr. Mats Karlsson	Under-Secretary of State, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Sweden
Mr. Fred van der Kraay	Inspector, Policy and Operations Evaluation Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands
Mr. Maarten Lak	Deputy Director, European Affairs Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands

Mr. Hans Peter Lankes	Senior Economist, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), London
Mr. Frans van Loon	Director Emerging Markets Group, ING Bank International, Amsterdam
Mr. Jens Lund-Sörensen	Managing Director, Nordic Development Fund, Helsinki
Mr. James Lynch	Political Counsellor, Canadian Embassy in the Netherlands
Mr. Gavin Maasdorp	Director, Economic Research Unit, University of Natal, South Africa
Mr. Mark Malloch Brown	Vice-President for External Affairs, The World Bank, Washington, D.C.
Mr. Percy S. Mistry	Chairman, Oxford International Group, Oxford, UK
Mr. Carlos Neves Ferreira	President, Institute for Economic Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Portugal
Mr. Bertil Oden	Coordinator, Southern Africa Programme, The Scandinavian Institute of African Studies, Uppsala, Sweden
Mr. Frits W. Olivier	Deputy Head, Southern African Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands
Mr. Charles P. Oman	Head of Research Programmes, OECD Development Centre, Paris
Mr. Arvind Panagariya	Professor of Economics, Co-director, Center for International Economics, University of Maryland, College Park, US
Ms. Miria Pigato	Senior Economist, The World Bank, Washington, D.C.

Mr. Henk Post	Head of Cabinet of Commissioner van den Broek, European Commission, Brussels
Mr. Nick van Praag	Director, External Affairs, European Office, The World Bank, Paris
Mr. Jan P. Pronk	Minister for Development Cooperation, the Netherlands
Mr. Peter Robinson	Zimconsult, Independent Economic & Planning Consultants, Harare, Zimbabwe
Ms. Annemarie Sipkes	Economist, Monetary and Economic Policy Department, De Nederlandsche Bank, Amsterdam
Ms. Piritta Sorsa	Deputy Chief, Trade Policy Division, Policy Development and Review Department, International Monetary Fund, Washington, D.C.
Mr. Jan Joost Teunissen	Director, Forum on Debt and Development, The Hague, the Netherlands
Mr. André E. Thibeault	Director, Centre for Finance, Nijenrode University, Breukelen, the Netherlands
Ms. Rosalind Thomas	Principal Policy Analyst, Development Bank of Southern Africa, Midrand, South Africa
Ms. Seija Toro	First Secretary, African and Inter-American Development Banks, Department for International Development Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Finland
Mr. Erik Visser	Economic Counsellor, South African Mission to the European Union, Brussels
Mr. Robert Vornis	Director, Multilateral Development Financing and Macro-Economic Affairs Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands

Mr. Samuel Wangwe Executive Director, Economic and Social

Research Foundation (ESRF), Dar-es-

Salaam, Tanzania

Mr. H. Johannes Witteveen Economic Adviser, former Managing

Director of the International Monetary

Fund, the Netherlands

Mr. Salvatore Zecchini General Director, Ministry of Budget and

Economic Planning, Italy