Appendix

List of Participants in the Conference on "Coping with Financial Crises in Developing and Transition Countries: Regulatory and Supervisory Challenges in a New Era of Global Finance", held at the De Nederlandsche Bank, Amsterdam on 16-17 March 1998.

Policies, UNCTAD, Geneva

Mr. Age Bakker Deputy Director, De Nederlandsche Bank,

Amsterdam

Mr. Jack Boorman Director, Policy Development and Review

Department, International Monetary Fund,

Washington D.C.

Mr. Howard Brown Director, International Finance and

Economic Analysis Division, Department of

Finance, Canada

Mr. Ariel Buira former Deputy Governor, Banco de Mexico

Mr. Paul Cantor Executive Director, The Toronto

International Leadership Centre for Financial Sector Supervision, Toronto

Mr. Datuk Ramesh Chander Special Adviser, Economic Affairs Division,

Commonwealth Secretariat, London

Mr. Roy Culpeper President, The North-South Institute,

Ottawa

Mr. Rumman Faruqi Director, Economic Affairs Division,

Commonwealth Secretariat, London

Ms. Greetje Frankena Head, IMF Section De Nederlandsche Bank,

Amsterdam

Ms. Stephany Griffith-Jones	Senior Fellow, Institute of Development Studies, Sussex University
Mr. Bon Sung Gu	Senior Fellow, Korea Institute of Finance, Seoul
Mr. Miroslav Hrncír	Member of the Bank Board and Chief Executive Director, Czech National Bank, Prague
Mr. Louis Kasekende	Executive Director, Research & Policy & Function, Bank of Uganda, Kampala
Mr. Mike Kennedy	Head of the Monetary and Financial Department, OECD, Paris
Mr. Alexandre Lamfalussy	Institut d'Etudes Europeénne, Université Catholique de Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve
Mr. Yung Chul Park	President, Korea Institute of Finance, Seoul
Ms. Susan M. Phillips	Governor, Federal Reserve System, Washington, D.C.
Mr. Godert A. Posthumus	Member of the Council of State, The Hague
Mr. Armand Pujal	Deputy Secretary General, Banking Commission, Paris
Mr. Mukhtar Nabi Qureshi	Deputy Governor, State Bank of Pakistan, Karachi
Mr. Pradumna Rana	Senior Economist, Asian Development Bank, Manila
Mr. Kunio Saito	Director, Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific, International Monetary Fund, Tokyo
Mr. Amaret Sila-On	Chairman, The Financial Sector Restructuring Authority, Bangkok

Ms. Barbara Stallings	Director, Economic Development Division,
	N-Economic Commission for Latin America
	and the Caribbean (ECLAC), Santiago de
	01.9

Chile

Mr. Tom de Swaan Chairman, Basle Committee, Director, De

Nederlandsche Bank, Amsterdam

Mr. György Szapáry Deputy Governor, National Bank of

Hungary, Budapest

Mr. Jan Joost Teunissen Director, Forum on Debt and Development

(FONDAD), The Hague

Mr. Max Timmerman Head, Macroeconomic Cooperation,

Multilateral Development Financing and Macroeconomic Affairs Department,

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Netherlands

Mr. William White Economic Adviser and Head of the Monetary

and Economic Department, Bank for International Settlements, Basle

Mr. H. Johannes Witteveen former Managing Director of the IMF,

Wassenaar

Mr. Charles Wyplosz Professor of Economics, The Graduate

Institute of International Studies, Geneva

Ms. Annemarie van der Zwet Economist, Supervision Department, De

Nederlandsche Bank, Amsterdam